Skip Navigation
Newtown, Connecticut

This table is used for column layout.
  • Home
  • About Newtown
  • Economic Development
  • Town Departments
  • Boards & Commissions
  • Community Links
  • Local, State & Federal Links
  • Parks & Recreation
  • Town Charter
  • Code Book
  • Purchase a Transfer Station Permit
  • Recycling Information
  • Town Budget
  • Video on Demand

  • Directions
  • Subscribe to News
  • Contact the Town

Code Red
The Town of Newtown has instituted the CodeRED Emergency Notification System.  Sign up for the CodeRED Early Warning System.

Fairfield County Probate District 045
Contact TypeContact Information
Honorable Joseph A. Egan, Jr.
Judge in Office
Bethel Municipal Center
1 School Street
Bethel, CT 06801
(203) 794-8508
(203) 778-7517
Monday - Friday
8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
As a result of the January 5, 2011 probate court consolidation Newtown is part of the Northern Fairfield County Probate District (Region 45), one of the 54 probate districts in Connecticut.  The other towns in the district are Bethel, Newtown and Ridgefield. Since 1850, the voters of the town or towns comprising each respective probate district have elected probate judges.   Judges are elected to four-year terms.  Judge Joseph A. Egan, Jr., who has been Ridgefield’s probate judge since 1990, is the judge of the new district.

The jurisdiction of Connecticut Probate Courts encompasses a wide variety of matters, including the admission of wills to Probate, the supervision of decedents estates and trusts, conservatorships, changes of name, adoptions and terminations of parental rights, matters involving guardianships and temporary custody rights.

Most Probate Hearings are informal and offer participants an opportunity to be heard, seek additional information and resolve differences.